I’m just sad that I had to play Roger this soon in the tournament. I was feeling good. I was hoping to play a very good tournament, but the draw was tough. Even with a very good match from me, it was not enough.

The Little Chicken gave an interesting, classy press conference after having played an interesting, classy match. I’ll admit that my tennis watcher’s jet lag meant that I slept through the first two sets but when I rejoined the human race I saw some brilliant tennis. I saw plenty of Federer mistakes but the most striking thing was how fantastically Simon was committing to his own game, not letting Fed right the ship. He was the adventurer, pushing in the most positive way and it was paying off.

I had to leave at the start of the 5th set for an exam (my failure in which I will be blaming entirely on GOAT-man) and I sort of knew as I walked away who was winning that match. It was going to be the guy who always does this to us. If it hadn’t been, I’d have been elated, but really surprised. Perhaps because I didn’t have to sit through it, though, I don’t really care how Gilles lost.

It was a pleasure to watch him play and to be shown that good tennis is still as powerful a force as it ever has been, even when it seems like there are concrete blocks at the top of the game blocking out some of what we love about it. Even if Fed blasts through the rest of the tournament without losing a set, I’ll have this to look back on as I vomit. So, thanks, Adventure Chicken.